Rock Eyez Webzine
Rock Eyez
Rock Eyez Webzine

Rockets To Ruin - Love - Drugs - Rebellion
Rockets To Ruin
Love - Drugs - Rebellion
2.5 stars

Rockets To Ruin brings head banging to new heights with the volatile hard rock music they play. The music is in-your-face rock n’ roll fueled by guitarist Mike Grimmett -- who plays licks you love to hear. Lead vocalist Cleveland Willis' vocals are fair, but as I stated the highlight is Grimmett. “Screamin' At Me” is reminiscent of Guns ‘n’ Roses, complete with Slash-like sounds. “1 More Fix” opens with killer sounds, but Willis is just missing the mark with his vocal performance. Willis might be a good front man, but he doesn’t give the impression of success.

In the meantime, the music gives you the vibes of Aerosmith, Kiss and Guns 'n’ Roses, with some whoop-ass guitar work. The bass lines by Chris Taylor are not too shabby, either. One of the better tracks is “Gotta Go, Gotta Roll” that lifts the spirits- and the outlook for Rockets To Ruin. The CD was produced by Rachel Bolan (Skid Row) and the sound quality was excellent.

Band Lineup:
  • Rob Hammersmith - Drums
  • Chris Taylor - Bass
  • Mike Grimmett - Guitar
  • Cleveland Willis - Vocals 


Track Listing:
  1. We Are The Drugs
  2. Take A Ride With Me (Straight To Hell)
  3. Devil Girl
  4. Screamin' At Me
  5. Burnin'
  6. 1 More Fix
  7. Helpless
  8. Gotta Go, Gotta Roll
  9. Revolution
  10. Nowhere To Go (No Time To Care) 


Rock Eyez Ratings
Ratings effective 4/13/05 © 2005 All rights reserved. The contents of this site may not be reproduced without the expressed written consent of
Site design and layout created by Carlos Rodrigues. Problems or suggestions? Contact the webmaster.