Rock Eyez

Ancestral Legacy
Ancestral Legacy
Goodbye Reality
Symphonic Black Metal
7 / 10
Release Date:


Back in 1995, Eddie Risdal started a group name Permafrost playing black metal in the confines of Norway. In 2000, the band recorded their first 10-track demo of symphonic black metal. More band changes in 2002 and 2003 more demos known now as Ancestral Legacy. 2004 Ancestral Legacy released their new 4-track demo “Goodbye Reality.” The band mixes sweet melodic vocals by Elin with growling vocals by Eddie Risdal. The pair makes a unique sound that Ancestral Legacy will be known. You can call it what you want symphonic black metal, gothic, to me it is some great tracks. Elin has a mellowing voice that she brings out in track-three “Murdered by Reality.” If you’re not a black metal fan, you will still like this CD. The music flows through all 4 tracks of more melodic metal than black metal. “Crash of Silence” is the highlight track, which is a dark song with melodic music backing both vocalists. 2005 could be the year for Ancestral Legacy.


Band Lineup:

  • Anton Dead - Bass
  • Børre Iversen - Drums
  • Tor Arvid Larsen - Guitars
  • Elin Anita Omholt - Vocals
  • Eddie Risdal - Guitars, vocals and synth
  • Additional lead guitar on "The last goodbye" performed by Hugo Isaksen
Track Listing:
  1. The last goodbye
  2. Crash of silence
  3. Murdered by reality
  4. Crash of silence (live) © 2005-2010 All rights reserved. The contents of this site may not be reproduced without the expressed written consent of
Site design and layout created by Carlos Rodrigues. Problems or suggestions? Contact the webmaster.