Rock Eyez

Automag - Hellbound
3.5 stars

I feel ya, yeah- these boys from North Carolina bring that hometown feel with an intensity that reminds me of new prodigy Jesse Blaze with a southern style, yet I also hear hints of James Hetfield of Metallica. The vocals by Mighty Quinn ooze confidence; they will stand tall as a powerhouse and should bring attention from the media. The songs are raw and the vibrant, guitar slashing by Mighty Quinn moves Automag up a level.

For an indie release, the production quality on “Hellbound” is excellent. Check out “Dead Man Walking” and the decibels that will blow your eardrums out of whack. It’s pure energy rock that will pump you up for the next round. Some of the songs have the same guitar riffs which is noticeable and needs to be changed up a bit, but that did not deter me from enjoying “Hellbound.” “Hardcharger” sounds like Metallica in the early days and I love the tune. I can’t wait to see what the future will hold as Automag matures. These guys are steering in the right direction and could make a major impact on the music scene. The guitar and vocals by Mighty Quinn are some of the strongest points and I see a bright future for Automag.

Band Lineup:
  • Mighty Quinn - Vocals, Lead Guitar
  • Paul McDermott - Guitar
  • Roger Morton - Bass
  • Dave Cook - Drums  


Track Listing:
  1. Alone
  2. Tonight
  3. Bullet
  4. The Last Time
  5. Dead Man Walking
  6. Ready to Ride
  7. Hardcharger
  8. Whiskeytown
  9. New Southern Outlaw
  10. Hellbound


Rock Eyez Ratings
Ratings effective 4/13/05 © 2005 All rights reserved. The contents of this site may not be reproduced without the expressed written consent of
Site design and layout created by Carlos Rodrigues. Problems or suggestions? Contact the webmaster.